What Happened Andy?


I might have mentioned this before, but Terry Koeckritz – Andrew Schalfy’s right-hand thug and resident internet stalker, repaid Andy’s trust in him by opening the private discussions of the sysops for general viewing. As far as I know, he’s still doing it.

Being a curious soul, I have spent some time going through them (hey, it might be wrong, but as I see it, they’re public domain now) and some of them have made for fascinating reading. It’ll take too long to go through all the posts for now – seeing as there’s 120Mb of HTML files – (but watch this space!) but there are a couple that caught my eye early on.

I’m sure that Conservapedia’s homosexual-obsessed sysop, Ken DeMyer aka Conservative, would be thrilled to know that the self-same Koeckritz considers that, “I now firmly believe Conservative has fallen into XXX’s and YYY’s (names withheld to protect the innocent) pocket… them feeding him supposedly “good” info on how to make CP climb higher on Google, and prodding him on to ideological excesses which only make us laughing stocks.” This from an e-mail dated 13 August 2007. Luckily since then Ken has gone on to prove that he is quite capable of making a laughing stock of Conservapedia without any prompting from others. blogsurfer.us

Then again, it’s as Dan Holmes said in a follow up e-mail, “Conservative strikes me as somewhat gullible. He also seems unwilling to work with the rest of us.” Never a truer word spoken.

However, it was a mail by Andy (dated 15 June 2007) that caught my eye and made me snort coffee out my nose. I’ll repeat it here verbatim.

I’m still feeling guilty about inserting the Clarence Thomas entry about how Senator Robert Byrd, who switched to vote against him, was a member of the KKK.  But perhaps that is justified because it was so outrageous to switch his vote, and his affiliation was so prominent and well known.

I don’t like guilt by association.  I vote to remove the KKK reference to Truman, even though I’m no fan of Truman.  We’re not Wikipedia trying to smear people.  (My emphasis)

So now I have one question to ask, Andy. What happened between you not wanting to smear people and you concocting that dung heap of an article on President Obama (or as you like to call him “Barack Hussain Obama”. I’m surprised you didn’t go the route of the Coultergeist and call him B. Hussain Obama)? Or George Soros? Or Richard Dawkins? Or Richard Lenski?

Let me guess, you’re only going to smear people you don’t like, right? Especially those who publicly bested you, like Obama and Lenski.

As an aside, I thought this mail from Andy (14 June 2007) equally laughable. He’s talking about not being able to block offensive words within a user’s name – a short-coming of Wikimedia at the time.

But apparently we cannot block obscene strings used within user names,  even though we can block strings used within edited text.

That seems crazy, but it is a reminder that Wiki software itself is in its infancy.  Down the road it may be our project that ends up doing the most to improve that software. (My emphasis)

Yeah, right, Andy. With who? “Professor” Poor? You can’t even install updates to the software properly, you can’t run any bots to simplify wiki-management and you sure as hell aren’t going to contribute to the improvement of the software.

About PsyGremlin

PsyGremlin is a former Conservapedia sysop (although the position was earned nefariously), stand up comedian, DJ, and is currently a self-employed financial adviser, who impersonates a responsible adult at least 5 days a week. However, highlighting and poking fun at the crazies out there remains his first love. Well besides pork crackling. And custard. And cricket.
This entry was posted in Administrators, Andrew Schlafly, Conservapedia, Obama and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Happened Andy?

  1. Pi says:

    Hey Psy, I found this great article about CP, I though I would promote it on your blog.

    • cpmonitor says:

      Lol! Believe it or not, that’s actually also me 🙂 But then I decided to keep my geeky side separate from my “watching idiots” side… altho sometimes there isn’t much difference.
      Maybe I should copy it across here. Actually, done – why the hell not.

  2. Dantius says:

    lolwut? Is this the SDG or did he do it again?

    • cpmonitor says:

      No, that was taken from the soopha seekrit SDG archives – there are some gems lurking in there. I’m hoping to get my paws on their Zeugloden Blues (the new SDG) stuff soon – hopefully Terry will provide. *grin*

  3. Jim says:

    You reference a shortcoming of “Wikimedia”. I think you mean “MediaWiki”. MediaWiki’s the software and Wikimedia is the organization that runs Wikipedia. I didn’t come up with it but that’s how it is.

Comments are closed.